City Building Games & Forums
September 16, 2014, 10:30:54 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: When you need a break from games of destruction, come here to talk about games of construction.

CityBuilderGames.com
 
  Home   Forum   Help Search Login Register   *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
September 16, 2014, 10:30:54 PM

Login with username, password and session length
Recent Topics
[September 16, 2014, 09:39:11 PM]

[September 16, 2014, 01:31:58 PM]

[September 15, 2014, 01:40:29 AM]

[September 14, 2014, 02:59:25 AM]

[September 02, 2014, 01:40:15 PM]

[August 29, 2014, 11:30:27 AM]

[August 28, 2014, 07:37:53 AM]

[August 24, 2014, 12:58:54 PM]

[August 16, 2014, 05:55:15 AM]

[August 15, 2014, 11:33:58 PM]
Click the plus on this block if you did not receive your activation email when registering on this site
If you registered for membership on this site but have not yet received the confirmation activation email, there are 3 main reasons.

1. It ended up in your junk or spam folder, please look there to see if it's in there.

2. You did not enter your correct email address.  Please register with a new username and the correct email address and try again.

3. Your IP address and or your Email Address is listed in the Stop Forum Spam (spam protection) database as a known spammer and when either your IP address and or your email address appears in that database, your account can not be approved.  As such if you are a spammer, please move along, our community is too small for you to bother with.  If you are NOT a spammer, contact the owners of Stop Forum Spam and get your information removed from their database and register a new account.
Permissions

Members
Total Members: 3622
Latest: kawummps
Stats
Total Posts: 31596
Total Topics: 2837
Online Today: 35
Online Ever: 273
(March 26, 2011, 05:00:14 AM)
Users Online
Users: 1
Guests: 31
Total: 34
CityBuilderGames.com! When you need a break from games of destruction, come here to discuss games of construction!

No matter the name of the game, we've got you covered here at City Builder Games.  Forums, downloads and much more are awaiting you here at the Citybuildergames.com

Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: StrongHold 2 and Windows 7? Anybody got this combination to work?  (Read 15117 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
City Builder
City Governor
Governor
City Mayor
*****

Reputation: +64/-771
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 6396


-=R.I.P. Weston=-


WWW
« on: February 14, 2010, 12:44:28 AM »

Hi,
So I came across my Stronghold 2 discs this evening and decided to install it and give it a try.

It installed fine, it opens fine to the main menu, but once I choose either the sim campaign or the other one, it doesn't load them.  It shows that it should be loading, and the music plays, and my mouse is not frozen, but it never actually loads the campaign.  I tried free build as well but it exhibits the same thing, it gets to the full screen image as if it's loading the free build map, but never gets any further.

I've tried setting compatiblity to XP sp3 and run in administrator mode but it still only gets as far as if it's loading either the campaign or the free build map and that's it.

Anybody have any luck with SH2 and Windows 7?
Logged

"Meat is Murder" - tasty tasty murder!
- I'm NOT a bird, I do NOT tweet


-= RIP Weston =-
Nov 26, 2005 - July 15, 2010
CoconutKid
City Attorney
****

Reputation: +2/-4
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 641


WWW
« Reply #1 on: February 14, 2010, 12:15:45 PM »

... Anybody have any luck with SH2 and Windows 7?

Do you suppose we have to count it as "once again screwed" by Micosoft?

Thumbs Down Nerdy telling someone off. Thumbs Down
Logged
City Builder
City Governor
Governor
City Mayor
*****

Reputation: +64/-771
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 6396


-=R.I.P. Weston=-


WWW
« Reply #2 on: February 14, 2010, 12:52:24 PM »

I'm not really sure just yet.  I've seen reports of people having no issues with this and Win 7, but then again I've seen people report that they get BSOD from trying to play Stronghold 2 on windows 7 too.

I'm really one of those people that usually is the one that can say "it works fine for me on such and such operating system" and I'd be telling the truth, so it baffles me how Stronghold 2 doesn't want to cooperate with my computer.   Hmmm I wonder if a reboot would help?  I don't turn off this computer unless I do a windows update and am instructed to, just no point to turning it off when I jump on and off it all day long.  But I don't suspect it will hurt, plus Realtek new drivers wanted to reboot a few minutes ago after installing an update to my sound drivers so I suppose I'll give it at try.  Oh bother as Pooh Bear would say.
Logged

"Meat is Murder" - tasty tasty murder!
- I'm NOT a bird, I do NOT tweet


-= RIP Weston =-
Nov 26, 2005 - July 15, 2010
City Builder
City Governor
Governor
City Mayor
*****

Reputation: +64/-771
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 6396


-=R.I.P. Weston=-


WWW
« Reply #3 on: February 14, 2010, 01:31:34 PM »

Found the problem.  Can't necessarily blame it on Microsoft this time.  Probably more likely the blame should go to the developers (Firefly Studios I think ), I have a dual monitor setup, and apparently the game doesn't like dual monitors.  It must not know what monitor to try to run the game on, so it doesn't run it at all.

Once I removed the 2ndary monitor from my system (turned it off in the windows 7 screen panel), started Stronghold 2 and it fully loaded the campaign, scenario etc.

Hmmm, go figure.
Logged

"Meat is Murder" - tasty tasty murder!
- I'm NOT a bird, I do NOT tweet


-= RIP Weston =-
Nov 26, 2005 - July 15, 2010
Khalan
City Attorney
****

Reputation: +12/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 765



« Reply #4 on: February 14, 2010, 05:58:38 PM »

This may work without having to disable your second monitor:
Right-click the .exe file, go to Properties, Compatibility, and check "Disable visual themes" and "Disable desktop composition".

That did work for me with another game that didn't like dual screens, can't remember the game now though.
Logged
City Builder
City Governor
Governor
City Mayor
*****

Reputation: +64/-771
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 6396


-=R.I.P. Weston=-


WWW
« Reply #5 on: February 16, 2010, 04:05:05 PM »

Thanks that worked fine.
Logged

"Meat is Murder" - tasty tasty murder!
- I'm NOT a bird, I do NOT tweet


-= RIP Weston =-
Nov 26, 2005 - July 15, 2010
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.18 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines
TinyPortal v0.9.8 © Bloc
Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.778 seconds with 26 queries.

Google visited last this page September 16, 2014, 05:32:23 AM